Each an Experiment - Winter Concert

About 4 year(s) ago by Creekside
Witness the Unforgettable Ives Quartet's Winter Concert
Enjoy an experiment of sorts this February with Ives Quartet's 2014 winter concert. Since its debut, this talented four-member group has captivated audiences from across the globe. And in spite of its undisputed success, the quartet still comes together to present a home concert series in the Bay Area each year.

Now, on February 21, the Ives Quartet will perform a three-part program featuring the works of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Henry Cowell, and Felix Mendelssohn. Aptly named for each composer's experiment with composition, the winter concert will bring to light Mozart's String Quartet No. 16 in E-flat major, Cowell's free-form String Quartet No. 3, and then conclude with Mendelssohn's String Quartet in F minor.

Composed of violinists Bettina Mussumeli and Susan Freier, violist Jodi Levitz, and cellist Stephen Harrison, the Ives Quartet has been celebrated for its transforming musical experiences. Guests of this "Each an Experiment" concert will become enraptured in the group's thoroughly absorbed, idiomatic, and soul-wrenching performances. Furthermore, the quartet's uncanny eye for fusing established works with lesser-known gems makes it a favorite of classical enthusiasts everywhere.

General admission begins at just $25, while children 12 and under are free to attend the occasion. Students are $15 with a valid ID, and seniors 65 years of age and older are only $20. The two-hour-long concert begins at 8:00 p.m., including a 15-minute intermission in between. Presented at St. Mark's Episcopal Church in Palo Alto, "Each an Experiment" is set to be an occasion you won't so soon forget this winter season.
This field is Required
* Required Fields